I understand the value in being an American made instrument, but what specifically makes it better with age? I think I might go for a classic lacquer Stratocaster. Take a handful of identical guitars straight out of the box and there are always a few that will sound better, for whatever reason. Oh, and i've been playing since 1979, so no, not a newb. How do u know what stray u have I have a blue one baby blue maple neck. I myself but an older Japanese Strat to install my midi pickup on without having to butcher my original 72, and it had very poor tuning stability. That Fender vibe always seems to come through. A cheaper alternative to the MIA Fender Strat is the MIM (made in Mexico) Strat, with the Mexican Standard going for around $600 new, compared to over $1000 for the American Standard. First off, I don't think Fender intentionally misled you here. My MIM Fenders play as good as any American made ones, you just have to play a lot of them til you find the right one. Pickups are ok, maybe not compared to anything labelled „custom”, but they do their job. I have to agree with most of these guys.I walked into a music store a while ago with $2000 budget to spend on a guitar. MIM is 150miles from Coroona, a lot of the original machines from Fullerton went to Ensenada, while new machines went to Corona. It comes down to the components used to build the guitar. The American Professional Stratocaster is available in either the SSS or HSS pickup configuration with the choice of a one-piece maple neck or maple neck with rosewood fingerboard. Swapped PUs and I wouldn't trade it for a MIA if I could. But after playing bunches of both I do think if you were to compare a large sample size of each you would find the MIAs consistently "better". We’d love to stay in touch, sign up for the Guitar World team to contact you with great news, content and offers. The new Fender American Ultra Stratocaster has been tweaked to make it the most perfectly playable Strat yet, but we're eve